Skip to content


Retired mariner Phil Rickard sailed away with Leighton Buzzard golf club’s Tucker Cup after a three-way with club colleagues.
More than 70 senior members of the Plantation Road club took part in the event, with business development manager Phil, Paul Bishop and Ian Hazell all carding 39 points.
But Phil, 12 years a member of the Leighton club and a Past Captain and current President of the Leighton based Sandhouse golf society, claimed top spot and his first club trophy win on countback with a better back nine score of 20 points.
Peter Rutt and Martin Read both finished with 38 points, two clear of John Tarbox, Steve Marriott, Neil Laming, Michael Birdseye, Stephen Maddison and John Bateman.
Club Vice Captain Graham Freer teamed up with Darran Valentine to win Leighton’s Frank Clements Trophy with a nett 46, a shot clear of Howard Leonard and Mark Leng, Christian Lester and Alexis Panayiotou and Grant Tibbett and George Elford in an 80-strong field.
Club Captain Simon Rossiter teamed up with Phil Coumbe to get Leighton off to a flying start in their inter-club match at Aspley Guise, but with only Gary Bennett and Dharm Naveen Diwakar carding a win, Leighton went down 4-2, with David Hawkins and Ian Rimmer halving their match.
Leighton beat Beds & County 4-2 thanks to wins by David Evans and Trevor McAleese, Mike Turnock and David Roberts, Keith Edmunds and Dan Hill and vice Captain Graham Freer and Dharm Naveen Diwakar.
Leighton Seniors beat Silverstone 5-1 with Keith Griffiths and Paul Bishop, David Newby and Steve Shepherd, David Woulds and Martin Flynn, Paul Johnson and Derek Browning and David Bishop and Martin Read cruising home with victories. Skipper Denis Leitch maintained his unbeaten record in gaining a half with Ken Wilson, while Andy Mcdonald and Mike Turnock also halved the final match.
A new set of clubs helped Leighton’s Peter Myrants win the Sandhouse Beefeater trophy at Studley Wood with an impressive 43 points, four clear of runner-up Alan Philpott who beat Trevor Stimpson on countback after both finished with 39 points.  There were nearest-the-pin wins for Rob Tate (3), Trevor Stimpson and Andy Walton, with Russell Brazier hitting the longest drive and Chris Newnham taking the guest prize with 37 points.