Skip to content


The Commander of the new “bluelight” emergency service hub now at an advanced stage of construction in Milton Keynes, has been named as Vice Captain elect of the 600-member Leighton Buzzard Golf Club.
Graham Freer, 54, an eight-handicap golfer and a member of the Plantation Road club for almost 20 years, has been named by current Vice Captain Simon Rossiter as his successor, a nomination which will be put to members at the club AGM in January, after which Simon will be installed as Club Captain for 2020.
Says Simon: “Graham is an excellent choice as not only is he a much respected golfer, but he has served on the club management committee both as Chair of House and Competitions Secretary. He is a dedicated and supportive clubman and will be a wonderful ambassador for Leighton Buzzard golf club and the sport as a whole.”
Essex-born but Cedars educated Graham has been in the Fire Service for 24 years and is currently overseeing the completion of the multi-million pound Bluelight hub which will house a 40-strong fire, police and ambulance complement to serve west Milton Keynes and Bletchley when it’s completed next March. Married to Sara and with daughters Megan, 21, and Emily, 17, Graham and family live in Linslade, Leighton Buzzard.
Peter Myrants Leighton Seniors squad has not yet lost at home – but have yet to win away. Only skipper Myrants and Graham Pellow and Martin Broadley and Terry Wright won for Leighton in a 5-2 defeat at Buckingham, with Tim Martin and Denis Leitch halving their match. They went down 4-3 at John O’Gaunt, with wins by Keith Griffiths and Graham Robinson, and Tim Martin and Mike Turnock supported by halves by skipper Myrants and Gerry Ferris, John Bettle and Martin Broadley and Derek Read and Ian Rimmer.
Their winning home form continued with a 5-3 victory over Chiltern Forest. Back-to-back wins by Tim Martin and Andrew Mcdonald, Ian Rimmer and David Sweetnam, Gerry Ferris and Trevor Stimpson and David Bishop and Graham Robinson got Leighton off to a flying start. But it needed half-point ties by Graham Avery and Danny Nairne and Keith Griffiths and David Roberts to secure the winning margin.
But there was no joy at Stowe on Wednesday, Leighton losing the last inter-club match to be played on the current course 6-2. Only Trevor Stimpson and Ron Burgoyne won for Leighton with David Roberts and David Newby and Iam Rimmer and David Bishop securing halves.
Skipper Myrants’ home fortunes continued when he won the Seniors Tucker Cup with 43 points, beating Nigel Barnes by a shot. Denis Leitch, Derek Browning and Robbie John led a chasing pack with 40 points, one clear of David Roffe and Jeff Wood.
Brandon Sanders won Leighton’s June medal with a nett 64, three shots clear of Paul Ahmet, Peter Sheridan and John Smith. Other leading scores: 68 – Paul Atkinson; 69 – Dharm Naveen Diwakar, Andrew Hall, Graham Freer, Billy O’Neill; 70 – Gregory Driscoll, Bryan Pratt.
Oonagh Russell won Leighton Ladies June stableford with 37 points, beating Maggie Shaw by a shot.  Jackie Phelps was top Silver Division player with 32 points, pipping Nicki Clarke while Lila Garrod carded 32 points to top the Bronze “B” division, Christine Bateman finishing runner-up.
Captain Elect Graham Freer (left) with Leighton’s current Vice Captain Simon Rossiter.