Skip to content


A wagging tail earned Leighton golf club Seniors the narrowest of wins in their annual match against the Ladies to retain the coveted Barney Hallam trophy.
Sixty-four golfers took part in the event in which Peter Myrants old boys beat Carmen White-Lawes ladies 7-6 with three matches halved.
The Ladies lost only two of the opening nine exchanges, but were edged out when the men won five of the last seven games.
Skipper Myrants and Steve Marriott, David Newby and Graham Pellow, Derek Browning and David Bishop, Danny Nairne and Will Sampson, John Smith and Nigel Phelps, John Tarbox and John Bettle and Stephen Maddison and Terry Lingham won for the men.
Beryl Wood and Judith Ammon, Christine Bateman and Elsa King, Norma Stevens-Hack and Margaret Browning, Stephanie Howlett and Sandra Carter, Lila Garrod and Malgozata Shaw and Jane Parry and Joan Waples won for Captain Carmen White-Lawes Ladies squad. Three matches were halved.
The event also raised £260 for the Captains Charities, the Stroke Ward at Luton and Dunstable hospital and New Life, a charity which supports disabled children.
Nine pairs are successfully through to the final of Leighton’s Captains Cup final to be played on April 6.  Lee Sanders and Mark Reynolds, runners-up in the first weekend qualifier, have reached the final at their sixth attempt, their 45 point haul beating Chris Read and Dharm Diwakar by a shot. Mark Vincent and Steve Giles have also qualified, carding 45 points to beat Ben Irvine and Manny Barker by two shots.
Lee didn’t hang around in Leigthon’s March medal…..the 8-handicap golfer finished top Division One player with a nett 68, only to be beaten overall by Division Two golfer Ian Woodman playing off 22.
Leading overall scores were: 63 – Ian Woodman; 68 – Lee Sanders; 69 – Gary Hart, Steve Hammond, Peter Sheridan; 71 – Phil Coumbe, Terence Rowe, Tim Martin, Nicholas Roberts, Dave Embury; 72 – Simon Enright; 73 – Neil Laming, Graham Aldis, Tony Hurndall, Daniel Latimer; 74 – Matthew Lowe, John Mckay, Geoffrey Barker.
Seniors Captain Peter Myrants receives the Barney Hallam trophy from Ladies skipper Carmen White Lawes.